A complaint is a suspected violation of the Arizona Revised Statutes and/or Arizona Administrative Code rules that govern the licensure of an Audiologist, Hearing Aid Dispenser, Speech-Language Pathologist, Speech-Language Pathologist Assistant, Midwives, Medical Radiologic Technologists and Laser Technicians. The Department only has jurisdiction over those matters that are governed by either rules or statutes.
Anyone with knowledge or concerns about a suspected violation may file a complaint. Complaints must be filed in writing.
In order for the Department to adequately investigate a complaint, it is important that you provide as much specific information as possible, including the name of the licensee, date and time of events indicated in the complaint, witnesses, where the events took place, and a complete description of what happened. A complaint form is provided to help you provide this information. It is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week on the Department's Internet website and helps ensure that the information you give about your complaint will be accurate and complete.
If you do not give your name or a contact number and the complaint does not include sufficient information, the Department may not be able to conduct an investigation. Also, if you want a report on the results of an investigation, you will need to provide a way for us to contact you. Note: All written complaints are public records and are open to the public for inspection per A.R.S. § 39-121.01. Any confidential information (i.e., names or other identifiable information of a patient) given in the complaint will be redacted before being made available to the public.
The complaint will be reviewed to verify that the statements indicate a potential violation of the Arizona Revised Statutes and/or Arizona Administrative Code rules. If our review of your complaint indicates a potential violation, information and/or documentation will be collected that is relevant to the complaint. If the Bureau of Special Licensing is able to substantiate a violation of regulations, a statement of deficiencies is written indicating the specific state law(s) that were violated.
If you want to know the results and provide a way for us to contact you, you will receive a report of the investigation. You may also see a 3-year history of all of our licensees, including any enforcement actions, on the Department's website at www.azcarecheck.com.
You may submit a written complaint to our Bureau via the online complaint form.